top of page
Search
  • Hailey Brett

Mid Term Critiques


Life Line - a line (or rope) used for saving or preserving life.


This project was inspired by my passion for music. Music has always been a huge part of my life and has carried me through good and bad times. One could even say, MUSIC has been my life line. During the last 8 weeks, I have experimented with realistic and abstract art to try to portray how music makes me feel and the importance it serves me on a daily basis. I also have reflected on various artists for inspiration such as Kandinsky, Warhol, De Kooning, Cezanne and Gaugin.


The following are the five individual panels that makes up this one piece of art inspired by a specific song. I used oil paint to achieve the vibrant colors. The colors I used were what I saw through the song and the instance black line is the melody I felt.





I began this concept with a sketch. I drew out the melody of the song with marker on paper.


I also played around in ProCreate to see my concept visually first.



I thought about adding detail to the ”life-line” to give it some dimension or rope texture. I sampled the rope texture on one of the panels but realized I liked it as an intense plain black line instead, and paired over it.




This was my first piece from the semester. It is an unfinished acrylic painting of my daughter at a music festival. She was spinning in the field and enjoying herself. I love this photo because it captures the freedom and euphoria she is feeling which is a direct connection to what I feel in the same setting. It was this painting that led me to explore different ways to express how music makes me feel.



I also started a scale drawing of Jimi Hendrix that later turned into an abstract attempt of his portrait.


The following pieces are further exploration with abstraction. I experimented with color, shape, and brush stroke to evoke feelings I receive while listening to music. I used ProCreate, marker, acrylic, and gauche crayons to achieve this.






More experimentation with line work, shading, different mediums, and digital work in ProCreate.















45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page