top of page
Search
  • Hailey Brett

Final Critique

As Walt Disney said it.. “When you’re curious, you find lots of interesting things to do” We are living in an abnormal time. By nature we are social beings and social distancing can evoke many emotions. I’ve had them all! Some days are great days, some days are shitty days, and some days are just days. To get through this time, I’ve been trying to connect to all the feelings I have. Is the way I’m feeling valid? Of course! Do they warrant my attention? Sometimes yes and sometimes no!! I struggled with finding the inspiration to create and make art. I fought it and rebelled against myself. In the end, I let go and surrendered. This my journey where I experimented with tactile textures to validate my feelings and give them ownership tangibly.


Mixed media on canvas (paper, aluminum foil, spray paint, ink, marker, acrylic paint)




Aluminum foil and spray paint on canvas


I loved working with the dimensional paint. It’s fluidity makes it easy to apply and I love the soft appearance. I also love the way the mica spray covers the canvas in a transparent way allowing the weave of the canvas to show through. The metallic finish applied to the canvas a second time after the dimensional paint was applied, allowed the paint to collect around the 3-dimensional lines.


Mica spray and dimensional fabric paint on canvas


I started this piece by finger painting and gradually layered on colors eventually graduating to brushes. It has a psychedelic vibe and as well as an organic scaly visual texture. Although this one is two-dimensional acrylic on canvas, the line direction and color combinations give it texture.


Acrylic on canvas


Oil paint on canvas





I experimented with gluing the pipe cleaners to the canvas. It gave the surface a beautiful soft tactile covering. I used soft piper cleaners of different widths as well as tinsel metallic ones.


Pipe cleaner and rope on canvas



Pipe cleaner on canvas - unfinished

Acrylic and plastic gems on canvas


I spray painted the canvas and used the hair dryer to move the paint around. The heat and forced air gave the paint a really cool textured, crackle effect.


Spray paint and rope on canvas

Dimensional fabric paint and spray paint on canvas


I used layers of neon orange and yellow spray paint on this piece. While the paint was still wet, I put on gloves and dragged my fingers around in a rhythmic motion around the cavas.

Spray paint on canvas

Acrylic on paper

Acrylic and marker on paper

Acrylic on paper


I love Keith Haring and always find it therapeutic and healing to doodle his designs. It’s something I’ve been doing since high school so it familiar and comforting, especially when I‘m unsure of what to create but want to be creative....

Marker on paper

The following drawings are doodles from my sketch book

Marker on paper

Pencil on paper









Below are some photos I took during a day at the beach using my digital camera







56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page