top of page
Search
  • Hailey Brett

Make like a tree and leave...

I find it fascinating when life events come full circle by chance. Do you believe in fate? In signs? Well I do... When this whole crazy thing started, I was still fresh out of class and was still motivated to continue to work on my life line project I had been working on. One night in the beginning of the craziness, I laid down the colors on three sheets of canvas paper. Using oil paints, red and pink hues filled the canvas while listening to John Mayer. I guess something inside of me told me to paint a tree.... I painted the tree using purple hues on top of the pink and red background. The next morning, I came back to the painting. Being the perfectionist I am, I wasn‘t so pleased with the outcome but tried to tell myself it was only the beginning stages of laying down the colors. I had to remind myself that I would come back to it and layer on more details and color. This is something I rarely do, so training my brain to know that I can and will rework a piece of art is something I‘m trying to get used to. So now fast forward two weeks. I have been inundated with my kid’s school work, the cooking and cleaning of my house... The little bit of me time unfortunately doesn’t involve painting. When I decided to attempt to be creative again, I felt like photography would be an easy segway. I demanded a family hike the other morning and took my camera along for the stroll. I was fascinated by the trees, their barks, their branches, and their roots. After taking a million pictures, i was inspired to tackle my painting again.... I m posting the progress pics of my tree of which I have included some “life lines”. Again, it is amazing how my vision of painting a tree in the beginning of this pandemic has become my obsession.... I intend on continuing to work on my tree, adding other colors and details...










4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page