top of page
Search
  • Hailey Brett

Learn your lesson.....

Updated: Mar 12, 2020

I found this article to be very inspiring. I notice that I often get stuck in my head and doubt my ideas and put too much thought into what I’m going to create. I put so much pressure to create a “perfect” piece of art rather than just experimenting.

One of the major lessons that I learned from this article was in Lesson 5. This lesson stresses the importance of work. I need to be creating art all the time. The more I create, the better my work becomes, the more I will learn about myself, and the more relaxed I’ll be about the process. I’ve become so fixated on “finding my style” but the only way that can happen is to continuously create to allow my style to reveal itself to me, rather than me trying to chasing IT.

Jerry discussed DuChamp’s Fountain which always resonates with me. I am still in awe that he was able to make such a strong statement with such a simple act. Because he had listened to the voices in his own head with confidence and pride, he made a statement that made art history.

In Lesson 11, Jerry discusses that an artist must listen to the voices in their own head. After reading the article, I created a list of all the ideas and artwork I create in my brain. I’m hoping that this will serve as not only a reminder of my ideas but also make me accountable for work that I plan on creating. I know that the only way to really become a productive artist, is to produce.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page