top of page
Search
  • Hailey Brett

Be STILL

Updated: Mar 12, 2020


I saw this piece at the MOMA on Friday. It was painted by Clyfford Still in 1944. I am amazed at how simple the artwork appears, yet it is so complex. Still used oil on canvas as his medium and he layered the black paint with many layers. These layers helped him create dimension. Aside from the black background that consumes the surface, he painted a red jagged line that runs horizontally across the top and down the right side of the canvas. There are also two yellow lines on top and one small green line on the bottom right corner. The painting is abstract and evokes so much power that it is captivating. As I stood still staring at this painting, I was drawn to it's resemblance of Dali's melting clock. I find it fascinating that a painting with minimal imagery can evoke feeling, nostalgia, and familiarity.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page